Blocking is an essential tool that allows us to choose who we interact with. All of us might have had to block someone on a social media platform at one point or another.
This might be because the account’s content was preventing you from browsing your feed properly or because you didn’t like the content the account sent you.
LinkedIn is an extremely popular professional platform that is used to conduct all sorts of business. Whether you’re looking to find details about your new client or you’re just searching for details on your new employer, LinkedIn is one of the best ways to do it.
This platform is important to facilitate interaction between many different companies and individuals. So, blocking another account can allow you to streamline your feed.
It is an extremely simple process that you can complete in a few steps:
Go to the “More” section on the profile of the person.
Click on the button that says “Report/Block”.
Choose to block the person, and you’re done.
The process to block companies is the same. The great thing about LinkedIn is that when you block someone, it prevents them from messaging you, seeing your feed, thus cutting off their access to your account.
However, for your account to be completely blocked from their view, you’ll need to change your privacy settings so that your profile is only accessible to people that follow you.
What Happens If you Block Someone on LinkedIn?
Once you block someone, it will prevent them from seeing your profile, your posts, and any notifications that you may send out. It will also prevent them from giving any endorsements to you.
You will no longer be able to see the person’s content or profile. This is essentially a great way to restrict contact with a company or an individual you don’t want to view.
If you are part of a group with the member you will still be able to view their posts or chats on the group but the individual will not be able to directly get in touch with you.
If I Block Someone on LinkedIn, will They see I Viewed their Profile?
The answer to this question is no. LinkedIn allows you to block individuals without notifying them. Additionally, when you block someone, your name will stop appearing in the section which permits you to check who viewed your profile.
However, if you have ever shared a LinkedIn Recruiter account with the person, they will be notified of your action.
I’ve Tried to Block Another Account, but I am Unable to do so.
Unfortunately, LinkedIn does not allow you to block members that are admins in one of the groups you are a part of.
To work around this, you might need to leave the group temporarily and perform the action.
How to Know if Someone Blocked you on Linkedin
Since LinkedIn does not notify individuals when they’ve been blocked, you will not get any indication immediately.
In case you want to check whether or not a person has blocked you, you can go to their profile and check their feed.
In case you’ve been blocked, you will not be able to view their profile or any of their content.
You could also try to send the individual a message to be certain that they’ve blocked you.
We hope that this blog has given you all the details that you’re looking for. If you’re still not able to block someone, feel free to contact the LinkedIn customer care team and they’ll be able to fix any issue you may have encountered.
Do you want to improve how you look online?
We are an online reputation management company focused on helping people grow personally and professionally.